Tourism News Tourism News
WWF Nepal presents conservation awards
The awardees are Satyalung Mother Group from Taplejung district, Phortse Village of Solukhumbu district, Royal Chitwan National Park and Purano Gorakh Gan of Royal Nepal Army, Youth in Anti-poaching Operation Awareness Campaign, Nawalparasi district and Gauri Mahila Community Forest User Group, Bardiya district.
Hari Prasad Neupane of the Federation of Community Forest Usersí Group, Dawa Tshering Sherpa of Kanchenjunga Conservation Area and Punam Lama of Manang district were the individuals honored with the Abrahamís award.Named after WWF-US Board member Nancy Abraham, the award to institutions carries a purse of Rs 50,000 and a certificate whereas individual awardees are presented with Rs 25,000.

The award, instituted in 1995, has till date honored 51 individuals and 25 institutions for their contribution to nature conservation.

(Source : The Kathmandu Post.)